The castle is located on the hill above the Smolenice village. First the castle had defensive function. It was built probably in the 14th century. It belonged to various noble families and from 1777 was the property of the Palffy family, which began to build in the beginning of the 20th century the new family residence in place of the old castle.
From the original castle only a part of the outside rampart with a cannon bastion is preserved. The architecture of the new castle was made following the example of the architecture of the castles in Central France. Its romantic aspect is completed by the close park with meadows and forests that arrive until the Small Carpathian mountains.
Today the Smolenice castle is the seat of the scientists of the SAV (the Slovak Academy of Sciences) and welcomes different sessions, accommodates scientific symposia and conferences.
For public accessible only through Summer Holiday in month July and August.